Tribal Council

Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation Tribal Council: (Back Row) Wade Pahmahmie – Treasurer, Raphael Wahwassuck – Member, Thomas Wabnum – Member, William Evans – Member, (Front Row) Joseph Rupnick – Chairman, Camilla Chouteau – Secretary, Zach Pahmahmie – Vice Chairman

The Tribal Council is the elected government of the nation. Its primary duties are to author the nation’s laws and policies and to serve as the decision-making authority on budgets and investments.

For carrying out laws and policies, the council created a tribal administration. Overall, the administration ensures that services, as decided by the council, are provided to nation members.

The Tribal Council consists of seven members. The terms are staggered. Each Tribal Council member has responsibility for certain duties listed in the Potawatomi Constitution. One of their main duties is to protect the health, peace, morals, education, and welfare of the tribe. Here is a historical timeline of past tribal councils, below are current elected officials.

Joseph “Zeke” Rupnick

Chair Person

Term: 2018-2022

Zach Pahmahmie

Vice Chair Person

Term: 2016-2020

Wade Pahmahmie


Term: 2017-2020

Camilla Chouteau


Term: 2018-2022

Thomas M. Wabnum


Term: 2016-2020

Raphael J. Wahwassuck


Term: 2018-2020

William “Bill” Evans


Term: 2018-2022