Ethics Commission

The Potawatomi Ethics Commission was formed to create a Code of Ethics and to investigate and hear complaints against Nation officials which arise under the code of ethics provisions.

The Potawatomi Ethics Commission is elected by the Nation’s General Council. The initial Chairperson and Secretary serve four years, the Vice-Chairperson and Commissioner #1 serve three years, and Commissioners #2 and #3 serve two years. Thereafter, it shall be comprised of six members who shall be elected for three-year terms by the General Council through an election process.

The Commission was approved in 2007 and the Tribal Council funds the Commission at a level sufficient to satisfy Constitutional and statutory obligations. Commissioners are not paid for their service but do receive expense reimbursements incurred in performing their official duties.

Ethics Commission Members

Chairperson | Lianna Onnen
Term: 2022  – July 2024

Vice-Chairperson | Royetta Rodewald
Term: Election 2023

Secretary | Virginia LeClere
Term: November 2019 – July 2024

Commissioner #1 | Jessica Burghart
Term: July 2020 – July 2023

Commissioner #2 |Shawnna Wabaunsee
Term: November 2022 – July 2024

Commissioner #3 | Allison Pahmahmie
Term: July 2022 – July 2024

Contact Information

Prairie Band Potawatomi Ethics Commission
P.O. Box 218
Mayetta, KS 66509

Documents & Forms

Code of Ethics
Public Notice
Travel Expense Form
Gift Disclosure Form
Ethics Commission Formal Complaint Form