Tribal Council/Ethics Commission Election Underway

Election Board photo  web 1.jpg

Left to right, Voncile Mitchell, Arlene Lingo, and Sherri Landis, Election Board members, look over the declaration of candidacy filings yesterday in the Member Services Department. 


MAYETTA:  Sixteen candidates have filed for the Tribal Council/Ethics Commission election that will be held until the votes are counted on July 28.

All sixteen filings were for one of four seats on the Tribal Council and no one filed for the Ethics Commission.  Candidates have until May 9 to withdraw their candidacy, if needed, by 4 p.m. at the Member Services Department office.

Vying against each other for Vice-Chairperson are Calvin Evans, Joyce Kitchkommie Guerrero, Carol A. Wahwasuck-Shopteese, Ronald, Jr. “Tony” Wahweotten, and Joseph L. Young; Treasurer-Hattie E. Mitchell, Paul Vega, and Noah Wahquahboshkuk; Council Person #2-Camilla Wishkeno Chouteau, Christopher Mzhickteno, Benny J. Potts, Thomas M. Wabnum, and Jancita Warrington; Council Person #3-Felix R. Cruz, Anita Evans, and Carrie Wabaunsee O’Toole.

The mailing of election notices were sent by mail April 11.  To vote in the election tribal members must be registered and the deadline date for tribal members 18 years and older is May 23 at 4 p.m. if you have not already registered.

Ballots will be mailed to registered voters on June 13 and must be received in the pre-addressed return envelope that will come in the mailing packet with the ballot.  Ballots must be returned by 9 a.m. on July 28 to the Mayetta Post Office which is the day of the election.  Please allow one to two weeks for mailing back your ballot.

If no candidate wins by a majority vote plus one, there will be a run-off election that will follow four weeks after the election.  The two candidates who receive the highest number of votes in the first election will face each other in a run-off to determine a winner.

Ballots will be tabulated electronically in an open meeting for the tribal membership that will be conducted by the Election Board at the Community/Rock Building.

More information about the elections process can be found on the website