Tribal Council Meets With Newly Selected Jackson County Sheriff and Undersheriff

Morse-TC- 5-11-11-1.jpg

Front row, left to right:  Darrell Chapman, Steve Ortiz, and Tim Morse.  Back row, left to right, Jerry Tuckwin, Jancita Warrington, Joyce Guerrero, Mike Boswell, Jim Potter, and Carrie O’Toole.  Chapman, Morse and Boswell met with Tribal Council and tribal member Tuckwin stopped in briefly to also visit with the group.

MAYETTA:  Tribal Council met today with Tim Morse and Darrell Chapman who will become the new sheriff and undersheriff of Jackson County beginning  June 1.  Tribal Chief of Police Mike Boswell introduced the two men during the meeting and both men are familiar faces to the PBPN.  Chapman presently works as a PBPN tribal police officer and Morse has also previously worked in the police department for the Nation.

Morse will replace Sheriff Charles Cornell who is resigning his post effective May 31. Morse is presently the Chief of Police for the city of Onaga and was selected by Jackson County’s Democratic Central Committee in April to fill the post from three other candidates. According to Morse, his appointment was approved by Brownback’s office yesterday.

Chapman was selected by Morse to serve as undersheriff.