Swearing-In Ceremony Held for 2022 PBPN Elected Officials


8.2.22 – The newly elected PBPN officials (from left to right): Gaming Commissioner #3 Rey Kitchkumme, Ethics Commissioner #3 Allison Pahmahmie, Tribal Council Member #1 William Evans, Ethics Commission Chairperson Lianna Onnen, Ethics Commissioner #2 Shawnna Wabaunsee, and Tribal Council Chairperson Joseph Rupnick.

The newly elected 2022 Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation officials took the oath of office during a brief swearing-in ceremony held on Tuesday, August 2, 2022, at the Old Bingo Hall. PBPN Tribal Council Chairman Joseph Rupnick officiated the event after being sworn in by Tribal Council Vice Chairman Zach Pahmahmie.

The winners of the positions were determined during an election held on Saturday, July 23, 2022. The position of Tribal Council Chairperson was retained by incumbent Joseph Rupnick. Tribal Council Member #1 position was retained by incumbent William Evans. Incumbent Rey Kitchkumme also retained his position as Gaming Commissioner #3. Incumbents Shawnna Wabaunsee and Allison Pahmahmie retained their seats on the Ethics Commission as Ethics Commissioner #2 and Ethics Commissioner #3, respectively. Candidate Lianna Onnen was elected to fill the remaining term of the vacant Ethics Commission Chairperson position.

This is Rupnick’s second consecutive term as Tribal Council Chairman. He received 531 votes, equaling 71.18% of the 746 ballots cast for the position during the election.

This is the second consecutive term of office for Evans, who received 427 votes, equaling 58.98% of the 838 ballots cast in his race.

This is Kitchkumme’s second consecutive term as Gaming Commissioner #3. He ran unchallenged and received 617 votes. The races for the Ethics Commission positions were also uncontested, with Wabaunsee receiving 566 votes, Pahmahmie receiving 556 votes, and Onnen receiving 545 votes. This is Wabaunsee’s and Pahmahmie’s second consecutive term on the Ethics Commission, and it is Onnen’s first term as Ethics Commission Chairperson.

These newly elected officials won their races outright, surpassing the 50% + 1 majority vote requirement. The Tribal Council Secretary position will be determined by a run-off election on Saturday, August 20, 2022, between the two candidates with the greatest percentage of votes in their race. The two candidates advancing to the Tribal Council Secretary run-off election are Lorrie C. Melchior, who received 255 votes, or 34.98% of the ballots cast for the position, and Charissa Wahwasuck-Jessepe, who received 207 votes, or 28.40% of the ballots cast in the race.

Watch a recording of the swearing-in ceremony on the PBPN Facebook page:

8.2.22 – PBPN Tribal Council Chairman Joseph Rupnick is sworn in by Tribal Council Vice Chairman Zach Pahmahmie