Ryan Dyer Sworn In as Tribal Council Treasurer


Ryan Dyer was sworn in to office today.

MAYETTA: Ryan Dyer was sworn in today as Tribal Council Treasurer by Steve Ortiz, Tribal Council Chairman, at a ceremony held this morning at the Bingo Hall.

After the oath of office was signed, Chairman Ortiz presented Dyer with a Pendleton blanket and following that, Tribal Council  and other audience members came forth to offer their congratulations.

Dyer has served as Treasurer for the past four years and ran unopposed in the recent Tribal Council/Ethics Commission Election held July 26.   He directs a staff of fifteen people in the PBPN Finance Department and oversees the daily financial transactions of the Nation.

When interviewed before the ceremony, and asked what he hoped to accomplish during his next term in office,  Dyer said, “I want to complete, along with Tribal Council, several projects that we’ve begun like the Highway 75 & 150 Road development project and the Shab-eh-nay land project, for example.”  He also said that in regards to economic development, he believes that the PBPN government’s role should be one of creating an environment of support yet one of separateness where businesses can thrive on their own.

Tribal Council members who were also in attendance today were Rey Kitchkumme, Vice Chairman, Jim Potter, Secretary, Jackie Mitchell, Junior Wahweotten, and James Wabaunsee.

An Ethics Commission swearing-in ceremony will be held at a later date that has yet to be announced.