Land Management Committee

Formed in 1998, the seven-member committee consists of an elected chairperson, vice-chairperson, secretary, and four members. The group meets once a month at public meetings at the Planning and Environmental Protection building on K Road.

The mission of the LMC is to protect and regain national land. To accomplish this, the LMC invokes the Prairie Band Potawatomi’s sovereignty and inherent right to its treaty lands. We assert our paramount and superior claim to any grant or sale of national property to other entities — government or otherwise — and will regain our national properties through land acquisition.

The LMC is also responsible for the preservation of culturally-significant sites, conservation of the natural environment, protection of land use for agriculture, and assistance in the social and economic development of the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation and its people.

Current members of this committee include:

  • Mary LeClere | 2018 – 2021
  • Marjean Shenk | 2018 – 2021
  • Barbara Walder-Hittle | 2018 – 2021

P.E.P. Manager Virgina LeClere serves as the staff/committee liaison.