Ortiz, Kitchkumme and Wahweotten Win Seats in Election: Run Off For Secretary

July 26, 2010 –

Steve O wins election today 1.jpg

Shortly after winning tribal chairman, Steve Ortiz, left, was congratulated by Jerry Tuckwin, Vivien Gonzales and Arlene Lingo who attended the election on Saturday.


MAYETTA:  Steve Ortiz (Mon-wah) and Warren “Junior” Wahweotten regained their seats on the Tribal Council  and Rey Kitchkumme won a spot on the Gaming Commission in the 2010 Tribal Council/Gaming Commission Election held last Saturday at the Bingo Hall.  Due to no majority-plus-one vote winners for the Tribal Council secretary that seat will be decided in a run-off election.  Jim “Wabaunsee” Potter and Dawn “Sogi” LeClere will face each other for the secretary position.

Ortiz won the chairman’s position with 602 (62.84%) votes over Theresa L. Jessepe Murray who received 356 or (37.16%) votes.

The secretary position resulted in a vote count for Jim “Wabaunsee” Potter with 423 (44.76%), Dawn “Sogi” LeClere with 278 votes (29.42%), Paul Vega with 95 (10.05%) and Noah Wahquahboshkuk with 149 (15.77%).

Council person #1 resulted in a vote count for Warren “Junior” Wahweotten with 484 (50.36%), Juanita Jessepe with 278 (28.93 %) and “Nis” Susie Wilbur with 199 (20.71%).

The Gaming Commission vote count included Rey Kitchkumme with 542 (56.11%), Anna M. (Wahwassuck) Boswell with 265 (27.43%), and Jona (Potts) Rupnicki with 159 votes (16.46%).

Those assisting with the election were Tim Sanchez of Automated Election Service (AES), Albuquerque, Marty Hamlin, Joe Mendez, Frank Shopteese, Leslie Marshno, Martie Mitchell, Arlene Lingo, Voncile Mitchell, and June Barber.  Tribal Police Officer Steve Cook was the official observer for the election.

The election results are unofficial and candidates can file a protest of the election results until Wednesday at 4 p.m.

The election was by mail-in and ballots were picked up at the post office.  The run-off election will be held in approximately four weeks.