Onnen Wins Chair; Chouteau Secretary; Kitchkumme Gaming Commissioner

August 23, 2014 –

MAYETTA: The unofficial winners in today’s Run-off Tribal Council/Gaming Commission Election were Liana Onnen, chairperson, Camilla Wishkeno Chouteau, secretary and Rey Kitchkumme for gaming commissioner #3. Ballots were counted electronically in an open meeting of the membership only that was held at the Bingo Hall this morning.

In the first election held July 26, Warren “Junior” Wahweotten won the council person # 1 seat outright by winning with a majority plus one votes but the other positions resulted in a run-off between the candidates for each position that received the two highest number of votes. In the run-off elections there is no majority-plus-one rule needed to win and winners can be determined by one vote.

Any protests of the election must be filed within three business days following the election. After that, the election results become official and are certified by the election board.

Election board members are Sara Gartenmayer, chairperson, Arlene Lingo and Sherri Landis. Member Services Coordinator Paul Vega and Administrative Assistant Elizabeth Gaona also assisted with the overall election process.

A swearing-in ceremony for the winners will be held Aug. 28. Wahweotten was sworn in on July 31.

Below are the unofficial results:

sharp@pbpnation org_20140823_112636 run off results.jpg