Liana Onnen and Rey Kitchkumme Sworn In to Offices: Ortiz Also Honored

August 28, 2014 –

MAYETTA:  A large crowd was on hand this morning at the Bingo Hall to witness the swearing-in to office for  Liana Onnen asTribal Council Chairperson and Rey Kitchkumme as Gaming Commissioner.

Outgoing Chairperson Steve Ortiz delivered the oaths and was also honored with a Pendleton blanket from Tribal Council and the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation for his many years of service.  After he gave his farewell speech, Joyce Guerrero, Vice Chairperson, also spoke and thanked Tribal Council and the Nation for working so well together during the past few months when Tribal Council was reduced to five members due to Ortiz being on medical leave and the sudden death of Jim Potter.

Following the presentations, a receiving line was formed where people offered congratulations and refreshments were also served at that time.

Tribal Chairperson Liana Onnen has worked for the PBPN for twelve years. Most recently she served as the director of the Housing department and prior to that served as the general manager of tribal operations for four years.

Rey Kitchkumme retained his seat on the Gaming Commission and will serve with other Gaming Commissioners Gary Mitchell and Larry Mzhickteno. Prior to his position with the Gaming Commission, Kitchkumme was on the Tribal Council for ten years.

Newly elected Tribal Council Secretary Camilla Chouteau will be sworn in to office on Sept. 8 with time and place to be announced.

Below are some photographs from today’s swearing in ceremony.

Liana takes oath from Steve 8-28-14 1.jpg


Steve Ortiz giving the oath of office to Onnen.

Steve-Rey handshake 1.jpg

Ortiz congratulating Kitchkumme after Kitchkumme was sworn in as Gaming Commissioner # 3.

TC-GC swear in 8-28-14 1.jpg

Tribal Council with Ortiz, Onnen and Kitchkumme.

Steve R w crowd 8-28-14 1.jpg

Ortiz speaking to the crowd.

Joyce G 8-28-14 1.jpg

Vice Chairperson Joyce Guerrero giving remarks.

Linda Yazzie -Liana-8-28-14 1.jpg

Attendees at today’s ceremony congratulating the honorees.