Larry Mzhickteno Wins Run-Off Election

August 24, 2013 –

Larry and Marguerite 1.jpg

Larry Mzhickteno gave a thumbs up shortly after his win.  With him is his wife, Marguerite.

MAYETTA:  Larry Mzhickteno won the Run-Off Election for Gaming Commissioner # 2 today by beating Jancita Warrington. The unofficial election results were 366 votes for Mzhickteno or (53.43%) and 319 votes for Warrington or (46.57%). The 685 votes were counted in an open meeting of the tribal membership this morning at the Bingo Hall. For election results, click here.

Mzhickteno, who was the incumbent, will keep his seat on the Gaming Commission along with Gary Mitchell and Rey Kitchkumme.

Those assisting with the election today included Leslie Marshno, elections judge, and clerks Frank Shopteese, Elizabeth Gaona, Beverly Brandt, Linda Wahweotten and Linda Yazzie.  Sherri Landis, Sara Gartenmayer, and Arlene Lingo, who are on the Elections Board, also assisted with the election along with Paul Vega, Member Services Coordinator, and Tim Sanchez of Automated Elections Services who electronically counted the votes.  Law enforcement officer Matt Simpson provided the police escort during the election.

Seven candidates filed for the two positions on the Gaming Commission in April and ballots were mailed to registered voters in June. Mitchell won his seat out right as Gaming Commissioner #1 on July 27 by winning with a 50 percent plus one margin.  Mzhickteno who received 30.84% of the vote and Warrington who received 24.77% of the vote which were under the 50 percent plus one rule, were ranked second and third, which forced a Run-Off election between the two.

Anyone wishing to protest the election may do so for three days beginning Monday by filing a written protest with Member Services located in the lower level of the Government Center.

Here are more photos from today’s election:

Leslie with votes 1.jpg

Elections Judge Leslie Marshno distributing the ballots to the clerks.

Tim-Paul-Leslie-Frank 1.jpg

Finishing up the final vote count.  From left to right is Tim Sanchez, Paul Vega, Leslie Marshno and Frank Shopteese.

Crowd at run off election 1.jpg

Members and candidates waiting for the results.