Hope Adame Wins Administrator of the Year Award with Kansas Head Start Association

KANSAS WINNERS ANNOUNCED IN THE NATIONAL HEAD START ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP AND AWARDS COMPETITION Lawrence, KS – July 23, 2014. The Kansas Head Start Association announced the following Kansas winners in the 2015 National Head Start Association Scholarship and Awards program. The following award categories recognize achievements and services contributed during the 2013-2014 school year. • Administrator of the Year-Head Start Director goes to Hope Adame, Prairie Band Potawatomi Early Childhood Center. • Beating the Odds Parent Award goes to Jerica Priest from Early Childhood Connections, Hays, KS. • Support Staff of the Year goes to Brenda Evans of Early Childhood Connections, Hays, KS. • Teacher of the Year goes to Maridee Armstrong with Heartland Programs, USD 305, Salina, KS. • Head Start Parent of the Year goes to Jolene Morel with Project EAGLE Early Head Start, Kansas City, KS. • Head Start Alumni-High School Senior award recipient goes to Justin Hertel from Early Childhood Connections, Hays, KS. • Head Start Staff-Higher Education award goes to Rachel Harman with Early Childhood Connections, Hays, KS. • The Sargent Shriver Excellence in Community Service Award goes to the Albert and Leona Morgan Charitable Foundation, Phillips, KS, Community Action Partnership of Mid-Nebraska. 2015 Kansas winners now continue to the Region VII Head Start Association level where they compete with other state association winners from Iowa, Nebraska and Missouri. Winners at the Region level then compete with nominees from across the United States. The Kansas Awards will be presented at the KHSA Affiliate Program Members (APM) meeting in Salina, KS on January 15, 2015. The Kansas Head Start Association is a non-profit organization that supports and strengthens Kansas early learning programs through advocacy, professional development and leadership. To find out more about Head Start or to locate a program near you, please visit