Gaming Commission/Ethics Commission Election Coming Up


MAYETTA: Nine candidates have filed for two seats on the Gaming Commission and two candidates have filed to become members of the Ethics Commission. The election is scheduled for February 25 at the Bingo Hall at 9:30 a.m.

Anna Boswell and Gary Mitchell will compete for Gaming Commission position #1 and Paula Hopkins, Larry Mzhickteno, Roy T. Ogden, Donald “Jim” Shane, Raphael Wahwassuck, Jacob M. “Tug” Wamego and Jancita C. Warrington will vie for Gaming Commission position #2.

Only two candidates filed for Ethics Commission seats and are running unopposed.  Rencie Eteeyan filed for Ethics Commission position #2 and Ruth Vega-Harjo filed for Ethics Commission position #3.

Profiles and photos of the candidates were published in the winter edition of the Potawatomi News that was recently mailed to tribal households.  They will also be posted on this website and placed under Election News soon.

Tribal members who are 18 years or older may still register by filling out a registration form until January 5, 2009.

Ballots will be mailed out on January 14 and must be received by 9 a.m. at the Mayetta Post Office on February 25.  Please allow one to two weeks for mailing back your ballot.

If no candidate wins by a majority vote plus one, there will be a run-off election that will follow four weeks after the election. The two candidates who receive the highest number of votes in the first election will face each other in the run-off election.

The Elections Office has merged with the Enrollment and Per Capita offices to form the Member Services Department and they are all housed in a central office suite in the Government Center.

For more information on the election call Voncile Mitchell, 785.966.3911 or call toll free at 877.715.6789.