Ethics Commission Election Coming Up

MAYETTA:  As of today 402 mail-in election ballots had been received at the U.S. Post Office in Mayetta, according to Arlene Lingo, a member of the Election Committee. Ballots will be counted in an open meeting of the tribal membership this Saturday at the Bingo Hall around 9:15 a.m.

Three candidates filed for three of the six seats available on the Ethics Commission and they are each running unopposed.  Mamie Rupnicki filed for chairperson, Rencie Eteeyan for vice-chairperson, and Kassie James for secretary.  No persons filed for Commissioner #1, Commissioner #2 or Commissioner #3.

Ballots were mailed on June 10 and must be returned in the pre-addressed return envelope per the instructions.  They must be returned to the Mayetta Post Office by 9 a.m. July 25 where they will be picked up by a member of the Election Committee and tribal police escort.

Members of the Election Committee are Sara Gartenmayer, Arlene Lingo and Sherri Landis.  Paul Vega is Member Coordinator whose office is located in the lower level of the Government Center.