Dorothy Kiyukan New Gaming Commissioner

July 14, 2015 –

(MAYETTA) Dorothy Kiyukan was appointed to the Gaming Commission and sworn in to office July 14 by Chairperson Liana Onnen at the Bingo Hall.

Kiyukan is a tribal member and was an educator in South Dakota for many years where she received the honor of being National Indian Educator of the Year and South Dakota Indian Educator of the Year.  She holds a master’s degree from the University of South Dakota.  She was an instructor and counselor at Marty Indian School and is a former President of the South Dakota Indian Counselor’s Association.

Along with Rey Kitchkumme, Kiyukan joins Larry Mzhickteno who also serves on the Gaming Commission.

The purpose of the Gaming Commission is to act as the regulatory entity for all gaming enterprises.  The commission also issues gaming licenses and ensures all gaming employees undergo background investigations.

Kiyukan and Mzhickteno’s terms will expire in 2017 and Kitchkumme’s in 2018. Commissioners are elected by the General Council for four years or appointed by the Tribal Council in the event of an unexpected vacancy.

Below are some photos taken at the ceremony today:

DK and LO swear in 1.jpg

Left to right:  Dorothy Kiyukan being sworn in by Chairperson Onnen.

GC and Liana 1.jpg

Kiyukan (with blanket) joins Larry Mzhickteno (far left) and Rey Kitchkumme who are on the Gaming Commission.  On the far right is Chairperson Onnen.  During her acceptance speech, Kiyukan honored Gary Mitchell (deceased) for his previous work on the Gaming Commission and with the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation. Kiyukan replaces Mitchell on the Commission.

TC and Dorothy 7-14-15 1.jpg


Left to right:  Kitchkumme, Camilla Chouteau, Mzhickteno, Kiyukan, Joyce Guerrero, Onnen and Junior Wahweottan.  Chouteau, Guerrero, and Wahweotten are members of the Tribal Council along with Onnen, Hattie Mitchell, Carrie O’Toole, and Tom Wabnum.

Julia and Dorothy 1.jpg


Julia Lewis with her daughter Commissioner Kiyukan.