Candidates for Gaming/Ethics Commission Election

MAYETTA:  Seven persons have filed for two positions on the Gaming Commission and no candidates filed for the six seats available on the Ethics Commission.

Gary E. Mitchell and Rebecca J. Shopteese -Thomas Harman have filed for Gaming Commissioner #1 and Larry Mzhickteno, Adriana Wahwasuck, Jona (Potts) Rupnicki, Jancita Warrington, and Marlena (Jessepe) Jordan have filed for Gaming Commissioner #2.

The election will be held on July 27, 2013.  Until then deadline dates are: candidates will have until May 8 to withdraw their candidacy; the registration deadline date for 18 years and older who have not previously registered will be May 22.  Ballots will be mailed out to registered voters on June 12

The election will be handled by mail-in ballot only with results being tabulated on July 27 in an open meeting of the tribal membership.  For more detailed information, please go to or contact the Member Services Department at 785.966.3934.