Welcome to the home of Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation

Tribal Council

The Tribal Council is the elected government of the nation. Its primary duties are to author the nation's laws and policies and to serve as the decision-making authority on budgets and investments.

For carrying out laws and policies, the council created a tribal administration. Overall, the administration ensures that services, as decided by the council, are provided to nation members.

The Tribal Council consists of seven members. The terms are staggered. Each Tribal Council member has responsibility for certain duties listed in the Potawatomi Constitution. One of their main duties is to protect the health, peace, morals, education and welfare of the tribe.

Council Members
Liana Onnen   Chairperson Liana Onnen
Term expires 2018

  Vice-Chairperson: Zach Pahmahmie
Term expires 2020
Camilla Chouteau   Secretary: Camilla Chouteau
Term expires 2018

Treasurer: Open
Term expires 2020
Jr.Wahweotten.jpg   Warren "Junior" Wahweotten
Term expires 2018

  Tribal Council Person #3:
Juanita Jessepe
Term expires 2020

Tom-Wabnum.jpg   Tribal Council Person #2:
Thomas M. Wabnum
Term expires 2020

Click here to watch Tribal Chairwoman Liana Onnen speak about "Sovereignty in Action."

Prairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Council
16281 Q Road
Mayetta, Kansas 66509
telephone (785) 966-4000
fax (785) 966-4002

For additional contact information click here.

[Back to Top]